Saturday, May 2, 2015

Life Before Damaged volume 6, by H.M. Ward

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

LIFE BEFORE DAMAGED is a series on personal growth and transformation and the story continues to evolve wonderfully. It is the backstory of my ultimate, all-time favorite book boyfriend Peter Ferro (a.k.a. Dr. Peter Granz).

Volume 6 brings about MORE: more twists, more banter, more sexual tension, more crazy urban lingo, more drama, more funny (I love Gina's bestie), but most of all, more PETER! I love that this series brings more depth to the original DAMAGED series (which is my favorite book, hands down). LBD is a do-not-miss journey of two people meeting for a season and a reason and I'm loving every word of it.

As with all of H.M. Ward's serials, the volume starts off as an immediate continuation of the previous one (no recaps) and ends in a cliffhanger. I've become addicted to the format.

*** This series can be read as a standalone but if you are looking for proper reading order, I suggest you read DAMAGED and DAMAGED 2 prior to reading LIFE BEFORE DAMAGED, even though this is a prequel of sorts to the DAMAGED series. It starts off after the events of DAMAGED 2, by having Sidney and Peter discover Gina's old journals. LBD is Sidney reading about Peter's past, through Gina's eyes ***

I received an ARC for honest review.

View all my reviews

About the Ferro family:
There are multiple series set within the Ferro family world: The Arrangement (Sean Ferro), Damaged and Life Before Damaged (Peter Ferro Granz), Stripped (Jonathan Ferro), The Proposition (Bryan Ferro), The Wedding Contract (Nick Ferro) and Secrets and Lies (mystery Ferro). Each Ferro family story is made to be read on it's own but if you like H.M. Ward's books, you may want to read all of them (see note on suggested reading order below). The Ferro Family books are contemporary "new adult" romance stories involving characters mostly in their 20's, all have sexual content, some are more explicit than others.

Suggested reading order:

Each series is stand alone & can be read in any order. However, if you are planning on reading all of the Ferro Family books, I recommend reading them in the order suggested below to avoid any confusion or spoilers from one series to the next and to keep events in chronological order. For the ultimate Ferro fan, there are also stories that are related to the Ferro family saga either by mention, by cameo or by secondary characters (Scandalous, The Secret Life of Trystan Scott, Second Chances and Shadows of the Past).

About H.M. Ward's serials:
Serials are shorter books (1/4 to 1/3 of a full-length novel). They start off abruptly from where the previous book ended and end with a cliffhanger. Being shorter books, serials don't recap events that occur in previous volumes, so it's best to start off with book 1. I read at an average speed and each volume takes me about 1 to 2 hours to read.

No comments:

Post a Comment